Dream PC – Holy Shit!

Engadget has just led me into THIS MONSTROSITY OF A PC:

Okay, okay. Let me get this straight. This is a PERSONAL COMPUTER. You know? That thing you can use for word processing, and um, the occasional Warcraft scuffle?

So why did they design it to autonomously battle tactical nukes? And I quote:

“three 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 HDDs (alongside two 64GB OCZ SSDs), a 4.4GHz overclocked Core 2 Quad Q9650 CPU, 2GB of Corsair DDR3 RAM, three 1GB NVIDIA GTX 280 GPUs”

Uh, this is parody, right? I think I’d have to hire a troupe of trained riksha drivers to manually pedal a dynamo for providing the extra power needed to actually USE this thing. Does the US army know about this?

This is unbelievable, you can actually BUY this monster for 20,000 dollars.  Well, no, you can’t. But I wonder who actually buys shit like that?

4 Comments »

  1. The Other Shai Said:

    I have a better idea, lets make yshay buy it!!!
    I want to put my hands on that box!

  2. freidenker85 Said:

    Dude, Ishai doesn’t make that kind of money in less than, say, 6 months or so. And even then, that is only if you forget about him, say, paying for being ALIVE.

    I never thought I’d live to see the day where they sell potential electronic weapons to the public.

    אגב, אתה יכול לכתוב כאן בעברית🙂

  3. The Other Shai Said:

    I get your point…
    By the way – “2GB of Corsair DDR3 RAM” , As opposing to the other bombarding parts, this doesn’t sound that much. Heck, I’ve got 2GB RAM, DDR2 yeah.. but still…

    And whats more, Servers today that use 8 processors, 5 terabytes of external storage, and such are extremely common.. (and yeah, no fancy GPU but.. you can stick it in their dynamic ass module). So thought about just buying a server ? I think its cheaper.. though haven’t checked.

  4. freidenker85 Said:

    Listen, it’s always possible to, say, buying 150 computers and taking hold of, say, China. But this whole thing comes in ONE computer. I’ve never seen anything as monstrous coming in a single package. You gotta say, this is a real animal.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

